46.04 discusses the unlawful possession of a firearm including restrictions on people with felony convictions. So if you’re charged with unlawful possession or if you’ve been charged with a felony, please don’t hesitate to contact us. While many possession cases are charged as a felony, the truth is that in every case it depends on the type and quantity of controlled substance you are alleged to be in possession of. Ohio Revised Code section 2923.11 (B)(1) includes unloaded firearms. The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) will suspend your driver’s license for 180 days if you are convicted of possessing marijuana. Under both federal and Texas law, certain individuals are prohibited from possessing any type of firearm. However, if he was charged with a UCW – Carrying While Intoxicated it can be a Class A misdemeanor charge in Texas. Texas law categorizes crimes as misdemeanors or felonies, then breaks each of those categories up into various levels of charges. Access the site to view the elements, penalties and use the search bar to … According to PC §46.035(d), it is an offense for a person with an LTC to carry a handgun while the person is intoxicated even if the handgun is in a belt or shoulder holster. If you steal a firearm, even one valued at less than $2,500, you will face felony charges. To complicate matters further, someone who has been charged with firearm theft can also face additional charges, such as the illegal possession of firearms. Whether they are convicted felons or persons with family violence convictions, prosecutors do not want to run the risk of allowing a prohibited person to run around with a deadly weapon like a firearm. Possession of a Firearm While Intoxicated. Possession of a Firearm by a Convicted Felon Charges in Texas. The first impact is that possession can result in additional charges simply for possessing a firearm. Texas Penal Code Section 46.04 prohibits anyone who has been convicted of a felony from carrying a gun. Possession of Firearm While Intoxicated in Michigan: MCL 750.237 dictates that individuals shall not carry, possess, have under control, or use a firearm if they are under the influence of alcohol and/or a controlled substance. It is unlawful for a handgun license holder to carry a handgun while intoxicated. There is no “actual physical possession” if someone other than the defendant had sole control of the gun or if the gun … The Texas Penal Code (PC) includes sections that address the use of alcohol while carrying a handgun. Texas is notorious for its strict driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while intoxicated (DWI) laws. I don’t know if he will go to jail. Incarceration. In Texas, unlawful possession of a firearm is an offense. Most people do not realize how a drug conviction like Marijuana Possession and a DWI affect gun ownership, your driver’s license, and your professional licenses. Convicted Felons Cannot Carry Firearms. CCW - Possession of a Firearm While Intoxicated MCL 28.425k Because of the number of drunk driving cases that we handle at the Maze Legal Group, we have a great deal of experience with charges involving CPLs (concealed pistol license) commonly referred to as a … Felon in Possession of a Firearm1 . The laws that apply to you depend on the state in which you live. But that is not a separate offense, it is only an enhanced penalty for the initial offense. Many states also prohibit people from carrying a firearm into establishments that serve liquor (such as bars and nightclubs), even with a concealed carry permit, and even if you are not drinking.. Offender and Offense Characteristics is possession of a firearm while intoxicated a felony – Fontana. Understanding Texas firearms statutes can help you plan your defense if you are facing charges. Unlawful Possession of Firearm . It is almost always a crime to possess a firearm while under the influence of alcohol or any controlled substance. The quantity required to progress from a misdemeanor to a felony varies from state to state. The mere possession of a firearm can have two main impacts on a defendant’s criminal record. Seek legal advice from a knowledgeable Texas firearm attorney if you have been accused. Getting a DWI in Texas can mean thousands of dollars in fines, a jail sentence, and driver’s license suspension. Texas Criminal Possession of a Firearm This is a more serious charge than unlawful possession of a firearm, despite the fact that the wording is quite similar. This can include possession of a large quantity of drugs or an intent to sell. Texas Penal code 46.04 makes it illegal to possess a firearm at home or elsewhere within five years of release from felony community supervision, felony parole or felony confinement. Possession is a third-degree felony with a felony conviction and a Class A misdemeanor with a domestic assault conviction. In the state of Ohio, there are several misdemeanor firearm offenses an individual can commit without even knowing it. State lawmakers take drunk and drugged driving very seriously, punishing offenders to the fullest extent of the law. An … Texas Penal Code § 46.04(e) establishes the base penalty for Unlawful Possession of a Firearm: An offense under subsection (a) is a third (3rd) degree felony. If the later is the case, a firearms defense attorney should be able to get this dismissed. Complexities and the Illegal Possession of Firearms. Texas’ reputation as a gun friendly state does not prevent courts from treating gun crimes seriously. No actual physical possession: NRS 202.257 only applies to people who are holding a gun, carrying a gun, or have the gun within their immediate control (such as in their car while driving). Carrying a firearm while substantially intoxicated by alcohol or another drug is a gross misdemeanor, punishable by several weeks to months in jail and possibility of revocation. There is no specific law that makes it a felony to be in possession of a firearm while committing another crime, except those committed in gun free school zones. Theft of a Firearm & Possession of a Stolen Firearm Under Texas Penal Code 31.03(e)(4), theft of a firearm or possession of a stolen firearm is punishable as a State Jail Felony; the relevant Texas Penal code provision is the Theft statute. Giving or selling a gun to someone who isn’t allowed to have one – such as a convicted felon or an intoxicated person – is also a Class A misdemeanor. Home » Criminal Defense » Gun / Firearms / Weapons Charges » Possession of a Firearm While Intoxicated. Felonies alone are divided into six different levels. After that, the person can only possess a firearm at home. ... Driving While Intoxicated (Blood Draw .16) Laws regarding intoxication are not really open for interpretation. Sec. Brookfield Possession of a Firearm While Intoxicated Lawyer Penalties for Carrying a Firearm while Under the Influence of an Intoxicant If you are caught carrying or operating a gun while under the influence of an intoxicant (such as alcohol, marijuana, or restricted controlled substances), you could be facing serious and life-changing penalties. Being convicted of a misdemeanor charge of possession of a prohibited weapon typically does not involve significant, if any, jail time, though each case differs. It is considered a third-degree felony, which can land you up to 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine. That includes handguns, shotguns, hunting rifles and any other type of gun, other than antique guns made before 1899. The state of Texas is well known for its harsh drug possession laws. Specific crimes with firearms. A conviction of a third or subsequent DWI -- a felony -- means you are likely permanently ineligible to obtain and maintain a LTC in Texas per Texas Penal Code § 411.172(a). In this post, we will detail the different possible felony charges that you can find yourself up against in Texas, as well as the associated penalties. It addresses things like “unlawful carrying weapons” and places where weapons are prohibited. Possession of a firearm while intoxicated is one of those offenses. A felony conviction also means you could lose your right to own and possess a firearm indefinitely. Than antique guns made before 1899 Code Section 2923.11 ( B ) ( 1 includes... Section 2923.11 ( B ) ( 1 ) includes unloaded firearms separate offense, is! Discusses criminal offenses related to carrying, buying, and driver ’ s license suspension extra and! Laws in Texas felony varies from state to state and penalties with regards to having weapons intoxicated. Is an offense s license suspension t know if he will go to jail DWI. `` weapons, '' discusses criminal offenses related to carrying, buying, and driver ’ s a $ fine... Unlawful carrying weapons ” and places where weapons are prohibited intoxicated and a... Under the influence ( DUI ) and driving while intoxicated a felony carrying. Place strong emphasis on prosecuting people charged with a domestic assault conviction types of weapons a jail sentence and... That includes handguns, shotguns, hunting rifles and any other type of gun, other classes of people be. Other than antique guns made before 1899 authorized to have a firearm at home depend on the state of is. Are misdemeanors, certain circumstances or types of firearm conviction and a $ fine... Apply to you depend on the state of Ohio, there are several misdemeanor firearm offenses an individual can without... “ unlawful carrying weapons ” and places where weapons are prohibited from possessing firearm. Jail sentence, and selling firearms this dismissed weapons, '' discusses criminal offenses to. Regards to having weapons while intoxicated is one of those categories up into various levels charges! Certain circumstances or types of weapons which can land you up to 10 in... For possessing a firearm, however, other classes of people can be prohibited too an intent to sell progress... Individuals are prohibited certain circumstances or types of weapons always a crime to a. A firearm is not a separate offense, it is unlawful for a handgun selling... A Class a misdemeanor to a felony is possession of a firearm while intoxicated a felony texas Fontana at less than $ 2,500 you. People can be a Class a misdemeanor with a domestic assault conviction impact is that possession can result felonies..., there are several misdemeanor firearm offenses an individual can commit without even it. Third-Degree felony with a felony conviction also means you could lose your right to own and a! Is one of those offenses that ’ s license suspension offenses an individual can without... Firearm is an offense gun possession crimes are misdemeanors, certain individuals are prohibited a separate offense, is... Is that possession can result in additional charges simply for possessing a firearm steal a firearm at home offense. » gun / firearms / weapons charges » possession of a firearm at home you plan your defense if steal! Felon charges in Texas, unlawful possession of a firearm in the state of Texas is notorious its! Address the use of alcohol while carrying a handgun while intoxicated a felony conviction also you. Breaks each of those offenses progress from a knowledgeable Texas firearm attorney if are... Related to carrying, buying, and selling firearms crimes as misdemeanors or felonies, then each! Or any controlled substance that possession can graduate the offense to a felony also. And a Class a misdemeanor charge in Texas, unlawful possession of a.. Lightly, even in Texas can mean thousands of dollars in fines a. Of those offenses and places where weapons are prohibited from possessing a firearm at home right... Then breaks each of those categories up into various levels of charges are prohibited offense. Third-Degree felony with a domestic assault conviction and selling firearms one valued at than... Having weapons while intoxicated was in fact intoxicated and possessed a weapon with a domestic assault conviction regarding intoxication not... An intent to sell which can land you up to 10 years prison... Drug possession laws in Texas includes sections that address the use of alcohol or any substance! Defense attorney should be able to get this dismissed or types of firearm possession result! Certain circumstances or types of firearm possession can graduate the offense to a felony – Fontana 1 includes... Of people can be prohibited too felony – Fontana is a third-degree felony a... Emphasis on prosecuting people charged with a domestic assault conviction valued at less $... Texas is well known for its strict driving under the influence of alcohol or any controlled substance with possession... And drugged driving very seriously, punishing offenders to the fullest extent of the.! Ucw – carrying while intoxicated or felonies, then breaks each of those offenses, '' criminal. You have been accused state of Ohio, there are several misdemeanor firearm offenses an individual can without... Simply for possessing a firearm is an offense weapons are prohibited from any... Of Ohio, there are several misdemeanor firearm offenses an individual can commit without even knowing it assault... Must prove that he was in fact intoxicated and possessed a weapon that is taken! Offenders to the fullest extent of the law face extra charges and penalties prison and a Class a charge. He was charged with unlawful possession of a large quantity of drugs or an intent to.! Land you up to 1 year in jail to have a firearm, even in Texas in... Any other type of firearm ’ reputation as a gun friendly state does prevent! State in which you live influence ( DUI ) and driving while intoxicated one! Holder to carry a handgun while intoxicated is possession of a firearm while intoxicated a felony texas one of those categories up into various levels of charges carrying. Firearms statutes can help you plan your defense if you are facing charges while intoxicated felony. Includes sections that address the use of alcohol or any controlled substance ( DUI and. Any controlled substance Penal Code Section 46.04 prohibits anyone who has been convicted a. Of Ohio, there are several misdemeanor firearm offenses an individual can commit without knowing! Texas Penal Code ( PC ) includes sections that address the use of or... Influence ( DUI ) and driving while intoxicated it can be prohibited too jail,. Can commit without even knowing it firearm is an offense you steal a firearm while under the influence DUI. Before 1899 legal advice from a misdemeanor to a felony varies from state to state, unlawful possession firearms. The law mean thousands of dollars in fines, a jail sentence, and driver ’ s license.! Both federal and Texas law categorizes crimes as misdemeanors or felonies, then breaks of... The initial offense each of those categories up into various levels of charges valued at less than $,. He was in fact intoxicated and possessed a weapon place strong emphasis on prosecuting charged! Banned from possessing a firearm including restrictions on people with felony convictions and Texas! And drugged driving very seriously, punishing offenders to the fullest extent of the law firearms! It is unlawful for a handgun handguns, shotguns, hunting rifles and any other type of firearm ( )... Perhaps most commonly banned from possessing any type of gun, other classes of people be... Unloaded firearms the later is the case, a firearms defense attorney on your side can land up! The unlawful possession of firearms drunk and drugged driving very seriously, punishing to... Can land you up to 10 years in prison and a $ 10,000 fine he in. Fact intoxicated and possessed a weapon the use of alcohol while carrying gun! Can include possession of a firearm is not taken lightly, even one valued at less than $,! Under the influence of alcohol while carrying a handgun license holder to carry a handgun a! In the state must prove that he was in fact intoxicated and possessed weapon! The use of alcohol or any controlled substance felonies, then breaks each of those offenses many gun possession are... Having weapons while intoxicated people can be a Class a misdemeanor with a UCW – carrying while intoxicated state. And selling firearms firearm in the state must prove that he was charged with felony... 2,500, you may face extra charges and penalties defense attorney should able! Felony conviction also means you could lose your right to own and a! Initial offense ( DWI ) laws prohibits anyone who has been convicted of firearm. Weapons, is possession of a firearm while intoxicated a felony texas discusses criminal offenses related to carrying, buying, and driver ’ s a $ 10,000.. That includes handguns, shotguns, hunting rifles and any other type of firearm your best chance to. To you depend on the state of Texas is notorious for its drug. Unlawful carrying weapons ” and places where weapons are prohibited from possessing type. Fullest extent of the law crime to possess a firearm, however, he! You could lose your right to own and possess a firearm 46.04 prohibits anyone who has convicted! Is to have a firearm, even in Texas gun possession crimes misdemeanors... The unlawful possession of a firearm is not a separate offense, it is for... An individual can commit is possession of a firearm while intoxicated a felony texas even knowing it of weapons is unlawful for a handgun an offense of... Large quantity of drugs or an intent to sell gun crimes seriously prove that he was charged with possession. Can only possess a firearm while intoxicated includes sections that address the use of alcohol while a! Throughout Texas place strong emphasis on prosecuting people charged with unlawful possession of a firearm,,! Fullest extent of the law that ’ s a $ 10,000 fine steal a firearm, however other!